lists.sh

· NJR's Prose Blog

And so it is done: I have migrated everything from njr.lists.sh to here.

I really liked what Eric and Team Pico are doing in general, and particularly liked lists.sh, which is soon shutting down. Migrating wasn't hard, and the scp-based model meant that there was never any danger of losing my lists, but the simplicity of lists, and their differentiated nature, appealed to me.

It's obviously entirely up to Eric and the team what they want to do with their services, and they obviously have the log data and storage data to known of what they speak when they say usage of lists.sh has been low. The only small point I'd make is that posting new lists (or even updating them) isn't the only value of a service. I posted more lists at the begin than just before the service went write-only, but I also updated lists periodically and referenced them reasonably often. It was great to be able to say, "just look at njr.lists.sh/films" if they wanted a film recommendation.

Anyway, thanks to Eric and Antonio for lists.sh and prose.sh and the more complex things they're working on now. I'm looking forward to seeing where it all goes.

And farewell lists.sh: some of us loved you! Not enough of us, perhaps. But some.